R A I N D A N C E R’ S F A I R Y P R O M E N A D E


Colombo Pride Week – Now That It’s Over!
June 19, 2007, 11:05 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

8.jpg

For the third year in a row, EQUAL GROUND recently held a week long series of events in celebration of Gay Pride…. Not being able to partake in most of them, I hooked up with a couple of friends and hit the pride party at H2O on Thursday the 24th of May. It was at least 10 PM when the music started to play…. (I tell you, we fairies know how to party….) Anyways, there I was at Sugar gaping at the drag queen, chattering with my friends wandering if anyone was going to show up at H2O…. We finally left Sugar and went down to H2O bought our tickets from the sweetest lesbians you can imagine giving us a warm welcome, almost dropped dead at the sight of the hottest guy I’ve seen, who happened to be ushering us in, looked around and woaw… “Is everyone I know gay?” 

Some pretty familiar faces around, guys I’ve acted with, guys I know from school, guys I know from work, (not all of them gay of course), were giving me this “I knew it” look…. But did I care? Yes I did…. I was terrified…. 

But eventually I got over it and started to have some fun although I couldn’t drink that night due to a very painful Gastritis attack… (Goddamn it) and watched the shows with these hot guys in boxer trunks doing a really queer dance….  

There were two types of straight people in there as well, ‘straights type A’ were there to voice their support and have a drink and dance and have fun with us fags and dykes ‘straights type B’ however, were staring clueless at the dancers wandering what on earth happened to everyone and what all the fags were doing there. “Was it faggot and dyke hour?” Little did they know it was “faggot and dyke WEEK”…. 

I really had a lot of fun that night… H2O was packed with fairies promenading and butch lesbians, who on so many occasions I mistook for my father…. 

And there you have it…. The very first gay party I’ve been to…..


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment